About the Sand Dune Motel Reviews

Guest Reviews of the Sand Dune Motel

Browse some of the reviews we have received on various websites below.


The Sand Dune Motel is truly one of Wildwood, NJ's treasures! With a friendly & hard working staff, it is definitely one of the cleanliest hotels on the Jersey Shore!

Being a yearly Wildwood visitor, I have seen some of the worst and best hotels on and off the island. I have stayed in some of the largest oceanfront hotels as well as a hotel or two back on Rio-Grande before going onto the island; the Sand Dune is surely now on top of my list of places to return to in coming years.

For years, our family vacationed just a few blocks down from the Sand Dune at a hotel that got bought out by one of the multi-million dollar condominium deals and ended up facing the wrecking ball. While we were all extremely upset about this, it gave us a chance to spend a few summers trying out different motels in the area.

The Sand Dune is one of the cleanest and well-kept hotels I have stayed at in Wildwood. It features small game-room great for afternoon showers, an Olympic size pool, a kiddie-pool, a small playground area, a miniature golf course, a picnic area equipped with gas grills, and a beautiful ocean-front sun deck! From many of the rooms in the hotel, you get a great view of the ocean which is located just on the other side of a small empty field from the motel.

If your looking for a great, family-friendly atmosphere at an affordable price a block from the beach - you better be booking your Wildwood, NJ vacation at the Sand Dune!


Jsuszki - September 09, 2009 - Pennsylvania - TripAdvisor.com


I recently just stayed at the Sand Dune and had a great time. This is my third year at the hotel and I would keep going back. The owners (Linda and Ray) are very friendly and would do anything for you. They have coffee set up for the adults in the a.m. and plenty of snacks and extras if you forgot to bring something to purchase in the office. The rooms and pool are very well kept.

I saw the pool being cleaned every morning and evening. Other then a game room, they have a lovely little golf course and ping pong table for the children. They also have some BBQ grills and a picnic area to cook and eat with family.

I actually cannot wait til next year! I feel the Sand Dune is a very family friendly place and very peaceful at night. I would highly recommend this hotel for families, and I will continue my stays there each year.


DEDE12988 - Philadelphia, PA - September 8, 2009 - TripAdvisor.com


Awesome. It's right next to the beach. Pool is huge with a gated kiddy pool lounging area ok to close to pool you get wet sometimes. Great sun deck over looking the beach could of sworn that I saw a ghost ship from the sun deck. Rooms good size and if you shut the door to back room back room gets as cold as the Artic!

CheerChick - NJ - November 29, 2009 - TripAdvisor.com


We absolutely loved staying at the Sand Dune last summer. So much so we'll be staying again this summer and going with some family for a reunion there in the fall.

I can't say enough about this place. I have virtually stayed almost everywhere in the crest in my 40 some odd visits, but this place is a return too type of place.

If you want someone else to babysit your children, go somewhere else. We had several small children around when friends came to visit and never had a problem. We even had some teenagers too who were also welcomed with open arms.

This motel is charming and well taken care of. You can tell its loved.

lpiron - Syracuse, NY - February 3, 2009 - TripAdvisor.com


I loved staying at the Sand Dune! The people running the motel were very nice and helpful. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. We had a great view of the ocean. The pool was fantastic, and they have a mini golf course, which my kids enjoyed. Also, they have a public bathroom and shower, which you can use after you check out if you go to the beach.

This is your traditional Wildwood Motel complete with plastic palm trees and I LOVED it!!!!

Teal-Mermaid - Vernon, NJ - August 28, 2009 - TripAdvisor.com


This was our second year in a row at the Sand Dune Motel. I absolutely love this place!!! Everyone in the office is so friendly!! The rooms are immaculate!! We have been coming to Wildwood Crest for 14 years, and this by far the best hotel we have stayed at. For the price you pay $145 a night, and it is right on the beach (well, there is a field across the street, then the beach) You cant beat it. Our kids absolutely loved the pool. They even had a pool party on Wednesday night, pool stayed opened until 10pm, and they even had free hotdogs!!! We booked our room for next year!!!

Fabulous job SAND DUNE!!!!!!!!!!!!

haalni123 - New York, NY - July 22, 2007 - TripAdvisor.com


We (myself, husband and 2 daughters ages 1 and 5) just came back from 5 nights at the Sand Dune & had a terrific time. We usually stay at one of the more pricey hotels on the beach, but we had to be very budget conscious this year. I have to say the Sand Dune is a terrific value and we will return! It was right across the street from the beach. We had a terrific view (rooms 316 and 317 are around a bend and offer a lot of privacy - they are directly across from the beach). Our room had a refridgerator and microwave, which was plenty as I wasn't planning on cooking. I rented a crib through the front desk (it comes from a third party) and had no problems. The pool was kept very clean and the front desk staff very pleasant. We were right across the street from a bicycle rental and rented a surrey type bike one day. Our room was kept very clean by the housekeeping staff. Very good experience!!!

p.s. The Port Royal, which is across the street had an excellent restaurant where we enjoyed breakfast.

Christine0114 - Holland, PA - July 30, 2006 - TripAdvisor.com


We stayed at the Sand Dune for an impromptu visit to the shore during a heat wave. The owners, wonderful people, were in constant motion tending to the needs of the customers. Yes, this is a facility that saw its best days during the Kennedy administration, but it's the little things I noticed that swing the pendulum from "yuk " to "recommended."

The Sand Dune is a happy place, lots of families with young kids splashing in the clean pool, playing mini-golf, lounging on the oceanfront sun deck, etc. At night, the families hang out on the shared balcony, but there are no loud hi-jinks, just quiet talking and enjoying the cool Wildwood night. No one stays up too late or gets too loud. And I like that you are not permitted to hang towels over the balcony, which lends itself to a tacky look.

The layout of the room was, frankly, claustrophobic. However, everything is freshly painted and sparkling CLEAN. The pull-out sofa is strictly for kids (mine actually fought over it), but the beds were comfy with immaculate bedding. I am very picky and look at things like corners, caulking, etc. The SD passed my white-glove test with flying colors.

More little touches: the cheerful game room; the campy little fountain and plastic palm trees and flamingos out front; the front desk lending books and current magazines to take up to the beach; the little snack bar (with ice cream) in the office, etc. And the fact that before and after we checked out, we were permitted to use the bathroom/shower so we could spend another day at the beach without driving home dirty.

This blast from the past is located right across the street from new condos that cost upwards of $750K, yet somehow it seems to fit right in the neighborhood.

MrsPine - July 21, 2008 - TripAdvisor.com


I loved staying at the Sand Dune! The people running the motel were very nice and helpful. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. We had a great view of the ocean. The pool was fantastic, and they have a mini golf course, which my kids enjoyed. Also, they have a public bathroom and shower, which you can use after you checkout if you go to the beach. This is your traditional Wildwood Motel complete with plastic palm trees and I LOVED it!!!!

Teal-Mermaid - Vernon, NJ - August 28, 2007 - TripAdvisor.com


We have been staying at the Sand Dune for five years. It has a beautiful view of the ocean. The rooms are always clean and the pool is a great size and on the sunny side of the street. I don't understand the other comments about the owners of the Sand Dune. They are always very friendly and accomodating. Not many motels will let you use a bathroom after you check out. I've have been going to Wildwood Crest for 39 years and the Sand Dune deserves its number one rating!!!

Misswildwood - Willow Grove, PA - August 13, 2007 - TripAdvisor.com